Shoes

Some of us LOVE our shoes, some just buy something that fits (or not)… regardless of the sentimental value, our shoes are a symbol of who we are or what we think about ourselves.

Think about your shoe collection or about that one pair of shoes that are your favourites. Picture them as a self-portrait.

What do my shoes say about “Debbie”? Perhaps, for me, what speaks the greatest is the shoes that I “don’t” own. I love shoes. As someone once pointed out, that for many women they are the one piece of clothing that the size needed never changes! Once a size 6, always a size 6. (Oh that felt good, saying that I was a size 6.) Anyway, in my past I have owned dozens of shoes, often chosen for some funky quality that just seemed too cool to pass up. I loved shape, colour, height, texture. Yes, indeed, I loved shoes.

Today, however, (although I still seem to have quite a stockpile of shoes) they are pretty practical and purchased based on need. (Now, here is where the men in my family roll their eyes because it seems their perception of “need” is different than mine. But the ladies out there understand what I mean.) The common factor for all the shoes is comfort. Today I need a shoe with really good support. If the shoe fits the purpose and feels right, preferred colours etc go out the window.

This translates into the rest of my life – comfort, support and basic needs.

Now — what do YOUR shoes say about you? I would love to hear your interpretation!

~ Debbie, The Journey Within

Journey Within

2 Comments

  1. May 4, 2011 at 5:24 am

    I found this topic very interesting…..when i was younger….i always wore a different kind of shoe than i do today and different than everyone else….i usually wore some type of high heel, but it was always different and unusual looking (although usually all black). There are 2 times that I can recall about shoes that everyone could tell it was my shoe….The first was in high school when we all had to take our shoes off and pile them in the center of the floor…i don’t remember what the subject was but everyone knew which shoe was mine. The second shoe incident was when a girl at work went around and took a picture of one of our shoes to have everyone guess and once again….everyone knew which shoe was mine. I have always been a little different than everyone else, lol……
    Today i dont really pay much attention to buying my shoes….In the winter i wear a boot and in the summer either sandals or flip flops..and i usually just buy a pair when i’ve worn out the other….i have less shoes now that I ever had before….same with whats going on in my life…im not go go go …rush rush rush anymore…..
    But it all fits.
    Thanks,
    Sandra 🙂

    • Debbie said,

      May 4, 2011 at 6:10 am

      Thanks, Sandra, for sharing your story.
      Doesn’t it feel good to cleanse life of the busy-ness.


Leave a Reply

