Setting It Free

The other day, while walking the beach with a friend, I had an interesting experience.

As I walked, I was not only “just be-ing” but I was also being aware of objects that were calling my name. On my walk I found a feather with half of the one side missing and a piece of driftwood that formed a “y” with one side shorter than the other. The two pieces seemed to copy each other in shape. The message that I received at the time was that my “left brain” was not in balance with my “right brain” — I was not using one of them enough in my life — I think it is my creative side that is lacking at the moment.

Anyway, as I walked north along the short I saw a feather floating in the water. I had a quick thought to pick it up and then realized that I was to leave it to go on its journey and so I kept walking.

On the way back, I saw the feather again and smile. I kept walking and, soon, my friend also passed by the feather and I heard her say, “No – you have a journey to travel. I will leave you on your way.”

Interesting that both of us had the same response to the same feather.

Later, as I was sitting on the beach holding my lopsided feather and my piece of driftwood, contemplating their meaning, I felt a slight breeze go through the feather, making it vibrate from tip to tip. I wondered if I should let it sail on the wind but held onto it, although a little less firmly.

I continued to contemplate the messages of the morning and added the meaning behind the amazing vibration that I was feeling. Then, I decided to return to the water and I sat the stick and the feather into the hollow of my camp chair seat. At first I put the feather on top but realized that it wouldn’t stay there long and I tucked it underneath the piece of driftwood. I said, “if you are gone when I get back, I know that you have a journey to go on.” And I smiled and walked away.

When I returned, the driftwood was laying in the sand in front of the chair and the feather was about six feet away laying in the sand. The wind was not that strong and the wood and feather had been sitting in the “pocket” of the chair seat, well protected from the breeze and yet they had been lifted out of the chair and the feather was released into the wind.

There are many things in our lives – tangible and intangible – (including relationships) that we know we need to set free (or don’t know) and yet we cling to them – sometimes holding tightly, sometimes twitching as we waver between letting it go and holding onto it longer.

But in the end, one way or another the items are set free. Hopefully it is because we made a conscious decision to do so and in so doing we set ourselves free as well.

~ Debbie, “The Journey Within “
Journeywithin.ca logo

Leave a Reply

