Ask the Children

I have a story to tell you. I hope you find it joyful and perhaps insightful.

Yesterday I had an experience that reminded me of a dream/vision that I was given some time ago. I won’t get into that story, other than to say that the message was: “Ask the children. They already know.” The dream was a reminder that the children of today have a stronger connection with Spirit than we have and are very aware.

Yesterday, while in a waiting room with my Mom, a little girl (about 4 years old) came into the room and walked up to me and put her face very close to mine. I ignored her closeness but it was hard not to check her out, since she was right in front of me. She wore glasses, her eyes big like saucers, and she had a splint on her one finger.

She ran back to her mother after our brief connection.

A few moments later she returned to me and the following dialogue went like this:
Girl: What’s your name?
Me: Debbie. What’s your name?
Girl: (her name)
Me: Pleased to meet you…
Girl: Pleased to meet you, too.
( a pause and then she stepped closer to me)
Girl: I have a very sad story to tell you.
Me: Sad? Do I need a kleenex?
(she looked at me, thinking)
Girl: I will tell you the story first. You see if you need a kleenex.
Me: Ok.
Girl: I was at the pediatrician’s and when nobody was looking I took it off. (She held up her finger in the splint.)
Me: Uh-Oh
Girl: (she steps closer again). Did you need a kleenex?

Over the next hour of waiting, she and I had several discussions (I had my Early Childhood Educator hat on and did a few little lessons on “running” and “controlling one’s body). She listened, and in her words, “I tried to control my body but it won” – as she made her last sprint around the waiting room.) But I’m getting off track. So easy to do, when in her presence.

My Mom noted, later, that of all the people in the room, she came up to “me” – perhaps the one person who would listen and interact. Perhaps .. but there was something. She was aware of something… she knew what nobody else knew. And she acted on it.

After our 3-hours spent in the waiting room, my Mom said that she would have left long ago if I hadn’t been there. My response, “Yes, but you wouldn’t have gotten to meet this little girl.” My Mom smiled. “Very true,” she said, “Very true.”

~ Debbie, “The Journey Within “
Journeywithin.ca logo

Leave a Reply

