The Visitor

The other day, while working in the garden, I noticed a snake “slither” up from between the bricks in front of my Cabin and then make its way underneath the floor boards.

I am not a snake-lover or a snake-hater, but i do have a phobia and do not like having to share the same space with this creature. And so I am the first to leave the area and rarely go back to the location for sometime. Alas, this means that the cabin is off limits for a wee bit.

This morning, as I was contemplating what I would get done today, the image of the snake coming out of the bricks flashed through my mind, interrupting my thoughts. At first, I thought, “Where did that thought come from?” And then I realized that in this image the snake was quite large, rather than the little garter snake in the original experience.

It was at this moment that I realized that the visit held a message for me. Reflecting on the meaning of animal totems, I remembered that the snake represents a transformation and I smiled. I was about to cast aside the skin of the current “me” and grow into something more, closer to my Spiritual Self and my purpose here on earth.

And at that thought, I picked up a book that I had purchased the day before. It has been a long time since I bought a book – which is rather strange, as I am quite addicted to books. Recently I have commented to several people that I had not purchased a book in a long time. Then, yesterday, while at a store purchasing some sweetgrass, I perused the book display and two books stood out for me. At the cash register I debated whether to purchase the book ” Understanding Life” by Wendy Hill but in the end I crumbled to my addiction and the book came home with me.

The book sat by my chair over night, untouched. This also is very strange for me, as I usually have the book read the very night that I buy it. But not this time. I didn’t even take it out of the bag. Not until I had my little vision.

Now, I have to say that the picking up the book to begin reading was not consciously connected to having the vision. I didn’t think “oh a transformation – maybe it lies in the book”. No, looking back, it was like two different experiences. One moment I am understanding the vision and the next second I had moved back into living life and picked up the book to check it out.

Opening the cover, I found a handwritten note from the author: “Hope you enjoy the journey”. Being surprised by this personal message I checked the book out more thoroughly and discovered that the author is from Six Nations, about an hour’s drive from here. She is a “local”, sort of. Now I am intrigued.

Next I find that the book is about her journey of becoming a healer, sharing her experience of dreams and translating them into healing messages, lessons to help live life in truth.

It wasn’t long before I knew that amongst these pages I would be transformed into a new “me” as I discovered or re-discovered more Spiritual Wisdom.

I haven’t finished the book yet — close but not done — but with each page I am inspired as well as reminded that everything I learn during this Spiritual Journey I have already discovered and been living in my “psychological journey”.

If I was to summarize the Wisdom, it would be:
– treat all things as Sacred
– treat all things as equal
– trust in the Great Mystery, just as young children trust in Santa.

And now, back to the book!

~ Debbie, The Gathering Place

Leave a Reply

