Becoming a Full-grown Woman

According to Native beliefs, as described in the books by Jamie Sams, a woman reaches full womanhood when she is 52.

For me, this takes place in two days and I have been very excited about this milestone ever since I read about it. Over the past year I have had many amazing experiences and have grown, Spiritually and as a person, in leaps and bounds.

I thought that, because this past year was my 52nd year, that all that took place was my big “wow” for the milestone time in my life. However, I met a lady a couple of weeks ago who said that something big was going to happen. I said that it already had and she looked at me quizzically and said that that was just the beginning. It’s going to get bigger. Well isn’t that exciting!

So this morning, with the hint of spring in the air, I took out my Sacred Path Cards, by Jamie Sams, to refocus on my Spiritual Journey, after a quiet time during the winter months.

The East Card (Opportunity Knocking), “Medicine Wheel”, indicates that doors are opening for me right now and I am heading in a new direction.
The South Card (Faith) “War Bonnet” reminds me to “exhibit confident willingness to be a pathfinder” and to trust my path that is unfolding.
The West Card (the path) “Field of Plenty” reminds me to give thanks for the resources that are to come my way and to manifest the visualizations through action. (To change a dream into a goal you have to take action — not just sit thinking about it.)
The North Card (wisdom) “Smoke Signals” tells me that the outcome of this part of my journey will be a clear purpose and conviction.

As a “dabbler”, I have my hands and mind in many different outlets, and the ideas of possibilities are many. I often am blocked by simply not knowing which direction I should take, or focus on.
The cards remind me to stay focused on “something” and become a master at it. (A message I was bombarded with last fall.) The cards also remind me to take action, to follow through with the ideas. I have done a lot of work on acting on ideas — I have written several books, hosted Gatherings, and, oh, so much more.
But obviously there is more to my path.
A clearer path is about to be uncovered for me. I must listen to my inner voice, spend some time in meditation, paying attention to the visualizations of my now and my future and of my purpose. I “need” to be open to the messages that will guide me through this doorway of opportunity and into my next stage of “I Am”.

I am very excited about the journey and about the possibilities.
I AM and now I have to do the ” I am” steps.

~ Debbie, The Gathering Place

1 Comment

  1. msdebbiep said,

    March 15, 2010 at 9:50 am

    according to Native beliefs, it takes 50 years to have enough experiences, to overcome enough hurdles and challenges to be considered “full grown”.
    I’ve had my share of challenges and I am grateful for each one of them.


Leave a Reply

