WII-FM

At a workshop I attended years ago they taught the concept of WII-FM: “What’s in it for me?” The idea is that with whatever we do (including attending a workshop) we are there to get something. To be successful at what we do we have to hook others with that WII-FM something. We have to give them something so that they become interested.

I’d like to change the concept just a tad and make it: WCID-FY. “What can I do for you?” Ok, so the acronym isn’t catchy like the radio station name WII-FM but I do like the switch in perspective. In the original version the intention is to “get” by giving. In the revised version the intent is simply to give and let the Universe take care of the rest.

Imagine being at a networking event and you are circulating through the crowd. You stop beside me and we talk about our businesses. Then I say the “WCID-FY” phrase. No strings attached; no hidden agenda – just a sincere offer to be a support in some way. I’m not sure how you will receive the offer or where this will lead but I do know that it feels very fulfilling to truly “network”, to connect and to give without an ulterior motive.

As I type this I envision two little bubbles of mercury sitting on a table. The one starts moving and soon connects with the other bubble, forming a larger and stronger entity. Now that is networking and definitely fits with the concept of “for the greater good”.

~Debbie, The Gathering Place

2 Comments

  1. January 15, 2010 at 11:32 am

    I like your way of thinking.
    gisele
    http://www.bloggingwithgod.wordpress.com

  2. msdebbiep said,

    January 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    thanks Gisele 🙂
    And what can I do for you?


Leave a Reply

